Skip to content

Why write?

April 29, 2011

Over the past three weeks, since putting my book on Kindle, I’ve wondered about what motivates me to write. Since deciding I wanted to write a book on a landmark birthday (!) I have written three full novels. The first was based on a BBC character, so that will never see the light of day. In any case that was just a trial run in many ways just to prove to myself that I could maintain some sort of narrative flow. The second was ‘The Girl on the Train’. The third, which I am trying to redraft at the moment, is called ‘The Vanishing’. I think both of these novels are worth putting in the public sphere, but I have no idea whether this is the case or not from a reader’s point of view.

So, why write? First, I suppose it’s because I feel  like I have something worthwhile to say. Second, because it is like an itch you have to scratch. With all the slings and arrows of a author’s life I sometimes get disheartened, but I couldn’t imagine not writing. Third, it is for my children. In many ways I want to show them a side to me that is different and a side that I hope they will be proud of. With everything taken into account I would rather have this hobby than any other, and who knows, it may just lead to the holy grail of strangers reading and loving my books.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

